top of page

Bathroom Tile Trends

FOLLOW THIS WEBSITE FOR MORE OF THE SAME CONTENT: Kitchens X Sjk (kitchensbysjk.com)


The tile industry is one of the fastest evolving materials in the design business from the colors to how its installed. Follow these tips to stay on the fore front of tile design while keeping your bathroom timeless.


1. Grid pattern

One of my favorite new trends in tile design is using the regular ol' subway tile & installing it in a grid design rather than brick pattern. This makes the design look more modern and is a breathe of fresh air after this whole era of Joanna Gaines farmhouse chic subway brick design. I think this design is best executed using colored tiles and not regular white subway tiles.



2. Hexagon Tiles

A hexagon shaped tile is so timeless and versatile! It looks best in a charcoal grey color or even black. It's most commonly found in a 9"x9" size but sizes can vary. I am obsessed with this look because it can go in a modern direction or a vintage direction and will fit in regardless.




3. Picket Mosaic

I feel like this picket pattern is maybe replacing the idea of chevron mosaic in the world of geo design. Its conservative yet trendy too and could be easily used as a shower floor or in the niche of a shower. I've also seen this used on the face of a fireplace and that was my favorite so far. If you're using the picket mosaic for shower wall tiles, I would suggest a larger size (like 3"x12") but if you're using this for a fireplace, niche or backsplash- the smaller size tile would be most appropriate.




4. Dove Gray

My trend prediction is that this fall we will start to see more of a warmer gray make its way across the industry. We're so used to seeing a cold grey with white tiles (like carrara marble). But its been done.... A LOT. And based on the introduction of natural products being used with white, I really feel that dove grey is going to make a big impact this fall and winter.




5. Teal tile

Whoa, theres a huge commitment! But its such a beautiful color and I find that I'm seeing more & more designers use a dark teal tile with the warm grey tones that I mentioned earlier. Its not a "beachy look" or a "bright color". Its a very sophisticated & serious shade of teal.




6. Edge Protectors

There are usually two choices when it comes to finishing the tile off at the ends- we can use bullnose tile or we can use something called an edge protector which is an 8' metal strip that gets installed on the edge of the tile to hide the unfinished/ cut side. I've been seeing edge protectors used as more a design feature in niches by using a gold or black metal instead of traditional brushed nickel or chrome that typically blends in. I love that in doing this, the tile design looks intentional all the way around.



If you're interested in ordering any of the tiles mentioned above, send me a message through our contact page!

bottom of page